Skip Navigation Links

Undergraduate Bulletin
Skip Navigation LinksUndergraduate Bulletin > Department of Theatre

Department of Theatre

School of Music, Theatre, and Dance

200 Taylor Building



James Fisher, Professor and Head of Department

Professors Bell, Hansen, McMullen, Wolf

Associate Professors Briley, Gulley, Morris, Wren

Assistant Professors Allard, Flannery, Gabriel, Woodworth

Lecturers Cauthen, Davis, Foldy, Hass, Purvis

The Theatre Department offers a full range of liberal arts and professional degree programs that prepare undergraduate students for a variety of career opportunities in theatre. The Department offers the following undergraduate degree programs:

  • B.A. in Drama
  • B.F.A. in Drama, with concentrations in
    • Acting
    • Design and Technical Theatre
    • Technical Production
    • Theatre Education (Teacher Licensure)

The degrees, which are accredited by the National Association of Schools of Theatre, provide students with a vital mix of course work that combines both theory and practice and allows for the development of skills and talents.

The Department also offers two minors in Drama and Technical Theatre. Each minor requires completion of 18 semester hours of courses. The minors are broadly designed and include a variety of course selections and should be of interest to students with general interests in these areas who are majoring in complementary fields such as Media Studies, Communication Studies, English, Art, and Dance.

The Department’s rich and varied curriculum is matched by an extensive co-curricular program that includes opportunities to participate in UNCG Theatre, Studio Theatre, Workshop Theatre, Theatre 232, and the North Carolina Theatre for Young People productions. Participation in Department-sponsored plays and musicals is open to majors and non-majors alike.

The Department encourages students to pursue internship opportunities, particularly in the summer months. The University also offers an exciting array of study abroad programs.

The Department utilizes office, classroom, laboratory, studio, and performance space in the Taylor, Brown, Aycock, McIver, and Curry buildings on campus. The Department’s faculty is composed of talented artists and scholars with excellent reputations as teachers. Students are encouraged to collaborate with faculty on creative and research projects during their course of study.

Admission to the Department’s degree programs is competitive. The requirements stated below are minimum requirements, and marginal compliance with them does not automatically imply admission.

Admission to Closed Courses

Due to enrollment pressures and limitations on space in certain classes, the Department adheres to the following policy governing enrollment in its courses:

  1. Individual faculty are responsible for adding or dropping students from their classes once enrollment limits have been met.
  2. Students may be dropped from closed courses even though they may have successfully completed the registration process for the following reasons:
    1. Student is not a major or minor.
    2. Student has not completed course prerequisites or does not meet other enrollment restrictions as stated in the Undergraduate Bulletin.

Post-Baccalaureate Unclassified Students

Post-Baccalaureate unclassified students are restricted from taking any 500-level class without the permission of the Department Head and course instructor. Only officially admitted M.F.A. and M.Ed. students can register for 600-level courses.

This page was last updated on June 8, 2011.