Skip Navigation Links

Undergraduate Bulletin
Skip Navigation LinksUndergraduate Bulletin > Expenses and Financial Aid > Financial Aid > Merit Awards Program

Merit Awards Program

The Merit Awards Program includes the most selective academic excellence awards made by UNCG. The winners are among the most outstanding students at UNCG, and their achievements enrich and enhance the University. More than forty renewable scholarships ranging from $2,500 to full tuition, fees, room, and board per year are offered annually to entering freshmen. Awards are renewable for up to four years of undergraduate study, dependent on maintaining academic standards set for the awards and satisfactory performance in an area of study for awards restricted by discipline.

A single application, available from the Financial Aid Office and due in early January, provides consideration for each of the following Merit Awards Program awards:

Merit Award Scholarships

Alumni Scholarship: The Alumni Association established these unrestricted annual awards to provide assistance to students of merit (approximately four are awarded per year).

Hazel Nixon Brown Scholarship: These awards are made to incoming freshmen who intend to major in Nursing. Preference is given to North Carolina students from Surry or Yadkin Counties.

Bank of America Scholarship: These awards give preference to students interested in business careers and include a $2500 study abroad stipend.

Board of Visitors Chancellor’s Scholarships: These are unrestricted annual awards made available through gifts from the UNCG Board of Visitors.

Kathleen Price and Joseph M. Bryan Scholarship: Joseph M. Bryan established these funds in 1984 for undergraduate study in the Joseph M. Bryan School of Business and Economics and each includes a $2500 study abroad stipend.

Ethel Virginia Butler Centennial Scholarship: Awards are made from a bequest from alumna Ethel Virginia Butler, a former teacher and long-time manager of the University Bookstore (approximately ten awarded per year)

Class of 1942 Centennial Scholarship: Funds for this scholarship were established by members of the Class of 1942 in honor of the fiftieth anniversary of their commencement, and the University’s centennial year (approximately one awarded every four years).

Class of 1944 Scholarship: Endowed by the Class of 1944 in 1994 to attract students with demonstrated leadership skills and academic excellence (approximately one awarded each year).

Class of 1945 Centennial Scholarship: Established in 1995 by the Class of 1945 to assist female students who have an interest in human relations, international studies, or women’s studies (approximately one awarded per year).

Class of 1951 Merit Scholarship: Made available through gifts from the Class of 1951.

Class of 1970 Scholarship: Created by the Class of 1970 in celebration of their 25th Anniversary (approximately one awarded per year).

May Mebane Donoho Scholarship: An unrestricted award made possible through a gift from May M. Donoho, Class of 1930.

Carol Jean Eiserer Memorial Scholarship: The Eiserer Memorial Scholarship provides out-of-state tuition, fees, and a partial amount for on-campus room and board for a graduate of the Montgomery County Public Schools in Maryland who plans to major in Exercise and Sport Science (awarded once every four years).

The Marguerite Felton and Guita Marble Scholarship in Chemistry: This scholarship was established in 2000 in honor of two esteemed professors of Chemistry, Ms. Marguerite Felton and Dr. Guita Marble, for study in chemistry.

James S. and Frances C. Ferguson Scholarship: This award, made to an outstanding out-of-state student, was established in 1978 to honor Dr. and Mrs. James S. Ferguson.

Fiftieth Class Reunion Scholarship: Awards are made possible through on-going class gifts given by alumni on the occasion of the 50th anniversary of their graduation from the University (approximately two awarded per year).

The Marian White Fisher, M.D. Centennial Scholarship: Awards are made possible by a bequest of Freida White McGirt in memory of her daughter, Dr. Marion White Fisher, ‘39 (approximately two awarded per year).

The Jefferson-Pilot Scholarship: In 1961, the Jefferson-Pilot Life Corporation of Greensboro established this annual award (approximately one awarded per year).

Elizabeth Louisa “Libby” Jones Scholarship: This annual award is given to students majoring in one of the sciences (mathematics, computer science, chemistry, or physics).

Jaylee Montague Mead Merit Scholarship: This award is given to students majoring in any field within the College of Arts and Sciences.

Beverly C. Moore Scholarship: This unrestricted award, made possible by a gift from the Moore family, is awarded approximately every two years.

L. Richardson and Emily Preyer Scholarship: This unrestricted annual award was established in 1991 to aid an outstanding undergraduate student (approximately one awarded per year).

Katharine Smith Reynolds Scholarship: Awards are made possible by the Z. Smith Reynolds foundation of Winston-Salem for North Carolina residents. Reynolds Scholars receive two $1,250 stipends for community service involvement and an internship. They also receive a $2,500 stipend for study abroad. Approximately ten awards are made each year.

Harry B. and Edith V. Sloan Memorial Scholarship in Science, Mathematics, and Health: Endowed in 1997 for students interested in pursuing study in health, the sciences, or the mathematical sciences (approximately one awarded every four years).

Deans’ Scholars Program

The Deans’ Scholars Program offers incoming freshmen four-year renewable scholarships ranging from $1,000 to $3,000 annually. This competitive program emphasizes academic rigor demonstrated by the completion of Advanced Placement (AP), honors, and college level courses while in high school. Interested students should complete a Merit Awards Application by the stated application deadline.

Community College Presidents’ Scholarship

These two-year renewable scholarships are awarded to students transferring from local community colleges, based on the nomination of their community college president. For a complete listing of participating community colleges, contact the Financial Aid Office at your community college.

This page was last updated on June 9, 2010.